canadiansurrogates

Bringing us all together with our love for building famillies

Another Wonderful Surrogacy August 18, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — canadiansurrogates @ 4:26 am

Image
Surrogate twins with Surrogate mom born Feb.17th, 2011.

 

Your Name: Nicole Willard – Westcott
Surro Baby’s Date of Birth:
Feb 17th, 2011


Why did you decide to become a surrogate mother?

I decided that I wanted to become a surrogate mother after watching a friend go through hard times trying to conceive a child. I offered to help her in anyway possible, and after year’s had gone by, they ended up not needing me, but I always felt this want and need to help someone make a dream come true.

How did your family/children/support people react when you told them you wanted to be a surrogate mother?

My husbands reaction was amazing, he said if that’s what you want to do then go for it, I will support you in anyway I can. Our children were supportive, our daughter thought is a bit odd carrying a baby that was someone elses, our son at a early stage, thought that we could keep the baby. After explanations, they both understood, and were a great support system for me as well.

What did you enjoy most about your surrogate pregnancy?

I could list a million things I enjoyed most about surrogacy, but the biggest thing, is seeing the Intended parents faces, when we were at ultrasound appts. As well one of the appts, both mom and dad were sick, so grandma and grandpa made the 2 hrs trip so they could see the ultrasound, and the look on their faces were priceless.

Pregnancies are not always smooth sailing, what pregnancy related issues did you experience and how did you cope with them. Example-morning sickness.

I did have some morning sickness, nothing more then what I had experienced with my own pregnancies. In my 25 week I had a sharp pain in my post terior rib area, turned out the OB thinks that the way the twins were laying they were pushing in that area, which did cause me to go off work, because any long period of standing was painful.

When your surro baby was born, what were your first thoughts, what did you say to the Intended Parents, what was the mood in the L&D room?

My intended parents were not in delivery room, I had been scheduled for a c-section, and choose to have my husband by my side, and my intended parents supported that decision. So I never actually saw them till 4 hrs post delivery. But when they came in to visit me to see how I was doing, they were a bit unsure themselves what to say. I think they were just so overwhelmed with happiness. While lying in my hospital bed, they proceeded to tell me what they had named the boy’s, and to my surprise, both boy’s were given my name ( male version ) and my husbands name as their middle names. Honestly I was then more overwhelmed, I cannot believe they went that far and gave their newborns, a long lasting part of both my husband and I. I thought to myself WOW, I guess they were pretty grateful. Having them have our names was something we never imagined. I remember saying to them….The wait is over, Now you have your boy’s.

Having been through your journey, what are your plans now, is there another journey on the horizon, are you going back to school, are you focusing on family?

Currently I am in another journey hoping to make another families dream of being parents come true. After this journey I will be focusing on my family, and just being a wonderful mother and wife.

Are there any additional comments you would like to share?

The only thing more I will say is if you have considered becoming a surrogate, do it, you will not regret the amazing feeling you have when you are able to give the gift of life to a family.

Image
Surrogate Mother Nicole Willard-Westcott holding surrogate twins at 2 day’s old.

 

One Response to “Another Wonderful Surrogacy”

  1. Isabelle Says:

    You did an amazing job Nicole!!!! xo


Leave a Reply

